NAVRATRI:  the Invocation of “Shakti” or Powers

We will always be happy if we have the powers and the confidence to face the variety of situations that life brings on a daily basis. We feel insecure and anxious when we do not possess the internal strength to deal with the people  and the circumstances.

Navratri is a reminder of the fact that all the powers that we need to lead a happy and peaceful life are available to us from the Supreme in the form of Shiv Shakti.

The following main powers can be attained through a mental connection of  the  soul with the Supreme soul through Meditation, a form of Shiv Shakti Aradhana:

  1. Power to Tolerate (Sahan Shakti): I can deal with insults, criticism, anger or physical suffering with courage, without losing self-confidence.
  2. Power to Face: (Samana karne ki Shakti):I am able to see beyond problems and difficulties, to discover positive side to situation, which seems totally negative on the face of it.
  3. Power to Accommodate: (Samane ki shakti): I can mould and adjust myself, as circumstances require, without having a feeling of “giving in” or compromising.
  4. Power to Cooperate ( Sahayog ki Shakti): this power creates unity and strength within a group and will make any task seem easy. the story of every one’s support of a finger to lift the Govardhan mountain.
  5. Power to Discriminate (Parakhne ki Shakti):Just as a jeweller can discriminate faulty ones from the real diamonds, I should be able to keep positive, worthwhile thoughts and discard negative, harmful ones.
  6. Power to Judge ( Nirnaya karne ki Shakti):This allows me to take clear, accurate ,timely and unbiased decisions, keeping me above the influence of situations and emotions.
  7. Power to Pack Up ( Sametne ki Shakti):I can be mentally light, packing in my mind only what is necessary and putting a “full stop” to the past .
  8. Power to Withdraw: (Sankirn Karne ki Shakti) I can be in a state of being a “witness” while performing all actions with zeal and full involvement, as per The Gita’s sermon.

With the invocation and right application of these eight powers, as represented by the image of Ashta Bhuja Dhari Ma Durga (Ma Durga with 8 hands),I can claim victory over the “Ravana” (the symbol of 10 vices) within me ,leading me to “Vijayadashmi” …a mark of victory over all negativities.

Wish you all a Happy Navratri!




4 thoughts on “Navratri

  1. Vikas Shirodkar says:

    JL we talk so much of sakti {power} but I had not realised there is such a detailed taxanomy of power. I particularly liked the samanane ki sakti and sankirn karne ki sakti. If we all develop this our own lives n the lives of those around us would be so much better… Social reality would change significantly. Thanks JL for pointing out the directions so clearly.

    • Jagdish Shah
      Jagdish Shah says:

      VS, thanks for the response…it is really amazing how different points appeal to different people !! i am happy that you liked the point about Samaneki shakti (power to adjust)and sankirn karneki shakti (power to withdraw ) . You have rightly observed that this simple looking powers, if imbibed , can lead to positive changes around us!!

      thanks again

Leave a Reply to Suresh Ogale Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *